A Short Synopsis of Srimad Bhagavad Gita in Selected Ten Verses
Download PDF


Srimad Bhagavad Gita
10 Verses


How to Cite

Harshavardhana, N. S., & Srinivas, K. S. (2022). A Short Synopsis of Srimad Bhagavad Gita in Selected Ten Verses. Dev Sanskriti Interdisciplinary International Journal, 19, 38–43. https://doi.org/10.36018/dsiij.v19i.216


Srimad Bhagavad Gita (SBG) is a very popular spiritual classic of Indian philosophy comprised of 700 verses that form a part of 'Bhishma Parva’ in the Mahabharata, the world’s longest epic. No commentary and critique of the Mahabharata are considered complete without the emphasis on the SBG and its teachings. Hence, SBG is the ‘kernel’ that guides mankind by eradicating ignorance and imparting self-knowledge. It is a practical tool that guides one in profound crisis and imparts several self-help tools that are practical even in the contemporary era. The dialogue between Srikrishna and Arjuna explores the origin of creation, nature of the body, soul, mind, and re-incarnation. It recommends one to walk on the path of ‘Dharma’ (i.e. righteousness duty) performing three key things: i) Righteous Karma (Action); ii) Unswerving Bhakti (Devotion) and iii) Commitment to Jnana (wisdom). The 700 verses are organized into 18 chapters and as three hexads of 6 chapters that guide one to attain ‘Moksha’ (salvation). The supreme lord also summarizes the key teachings of the Upanishads at relevant places which is a marvel in itself. This short perspective attempts to convey the key message and essence of SBG through a selected ten verses chosen by Sri Swami Dayananda Saraswati (an Advaita Vedantic philosopher) of Arsha Vidya Gurukulam (Anaikatti and Rishikesh, India).

Download PDF


Saraswati, D. Vision of the Gita: In ten selected verses. Chennai: Arsha Vidya Research and Publication Trust. 2019 (ISBN: 978-9380049786).

Saraswati, D. Bhagavad Gita home study course: Vol 1 – 9. Chennai: Arsha Vidya Research and Publication Trust. 2015 (ISBN: 978-9380049397).

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.